Decisions, Decisions…

The Ontario Physique Association has announced their upcoming fitness competition dates for the 2014 year. Right now, I am torn between two different show dates. The first show in Ottawa takes place on June 14, 2014. The second takes place on  November 1, 2014. Initially, I was aiming to participate in the November 1st show, but June 14 may be doable as well. The June show is just under 7 months from now, which is a good goal to work towards. I think this date just seems a lot more terrifying because it is sooner, and I have never even been to a bodybuilding show, let alone competed in one. I also don’t have a trainer yet, and I am nowhere near the shape I will need to be in to compete. Of course, this is the off season, and I have done 12-week intense programs before, so feasibly I should be able to compete in June.

Looking at my results from the Kris Gethin 12-week program, I can see that my largest changes took place between weeks 1-8. Despite following an even more extreme training programs during weeks 8-12, I do not see a huge difference in my body. I am certain that I can get myself to this point again, without a trainer, so it may be possible to compete in June if I have assistance in the 12 weeks leading up to the show. I will need to be taught everything there is to know about posing, tanning, make-up, etc. as well.

1063927_10151511977891121_1557535811_o

Right now, to be safe, I am still going to focus on doing a show in November, but if I feel that I can get there by June, I may switch up my goal. I will work towards getting my body into the shape I was in Kris Gethin Week 12 by February, and see where I can go from there.

I have a few personal obstacles standing in the way of competing in a show in mid-June. First, I will be going to Punta Cana the first week of April for 7 days, and I want to be able to enjoy that fully, without worrying about what it may do to my show results. Second, I have two work conferences in May, which only take up approximately 6 days of the month, but that really is cutting it close. November still seems like a better bet for me, all taken into consideration, but a girl can dream. It is still motivational to try to work towards an earlier date!

2 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions…

Leave a Reply

