My Test Kitchen: Chocolate Casein Oatmeal Protein Cookies

I don’t know about you, but whenever I go on any sort of healthy diet, I tend to still have cravings. They do dissipate over time, but even when they are gone I still enjoy treating myself with something sweet. I discovered Quest Protein Bars a few months ago, and I’ve been COMPLETELY OBSESSED ever since! They really are amazing. I’ve tried quite a few flavors, and I highly suggest the White Chocolate Raspberry, Cookie Dough, Chocolate Brownie, Vanilla Almond Crunch and Lemon Cream Pie. I’m also extremely excited to try their brand new Cookies and Cream flavor! How incredible will that be for dieters everywhere?

1653667_698779273495450_1018476705_n

Anyway, buying Quest bars and my other favorite, Pure Protein bars, gets really expensive. I also have a hard time stopping myself from eating two a day–and that isn’t helping me at all. I have been looking for a good protein cookie recipe to replace my Quest bar habit, and to use up my Chocolate Casein powder that I can’t really stomach. I tweaked a recipe and made something really amazing! Give it a try!

 cookies 1

CHOCOLATE CASEIN OATMEAL PROTEIN COOKIES

Ingredients

1 cup quick cooking oats
2 TB whole wheat flour
3/4 cup chocolate casein protein powder
2 TB cocoa powder
Pinch salt
2 tbsp splenda (or equivalent other sweetener)
3 tbsp PC Blue Menu Twice the Fruit Spread
1/3 cup egg whites
4 TB natural smooth peanut butter (slightly melted)
3/4 cup water (amount depending on the kind of protein) OR 1/2 cup water, 1/3 cup fat-free cream

How to Prepare

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Coat a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
3. In a mixing bowl, combine jam, egg whites, and melted peanut butter; mix well.
4. Add oats, whole wheat flour, protein powder, cocoa powder, salt, and splenda; mix well.
5. Stir until the mixture is well blended and a dough is formed (if your dough is too crumbly, add water 1 TB at a time until dough is formed).
6. Scoop your dough into even portions onto the cookie sheet.
7. Bake for 10 minutes.

image

You can use any kind of protein powder, but I used this one:

Casein

I also make my own peanut butter, but any kind of nut butter will do. I substituted the sugar free jam for apple sauce, so feel free to change that around to suit your taste. I have also made this recipe omitting egg whites, opting to use non-fat cream in its place. I substituted 1/2 of cream, and used 3/4 cup of water. I think this is the best recipe I have found to make use of my casein powder! Give it a try, I hope you enjoy it!

NUTRITION DATA

Per cookie (recipe makes 12): 98 calories, 7.9 grams protein, 9 grams carbs, 3.4 grams fat

image[1]

Leave a Reply

